Blog tour, General bookish fun, Review, Uncategorized

Blog Tour: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg

Author: T.A. Willberg

Genre: Adult Historical Mysteries

Published by: Trapeze

Publication date: 13/05/21

Pages: 335

My rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis from Goodreads:

They were a band of mysterious private detectives who lived beneath the streets of London in a labyrinth of twisted tunnels and ancient hallways, the entrance to which no one had ever found. The Inquirers were something of a myth, a whispered legend that may or may not exist, depending on whom you asked. They were like ghosts, some said, these sleuths who guarded the city…

London, 1958:

Elaborately disguised and hidden deep beneath the city’s streets lies the world of Miss Brickett’s, a secret detective agency, training and housing the mysterious Inquirers. From traversing deceptive escape rooms full of baited traps and hidden dangers, to engineering almost magical mechanical gadgets, apprentice detectives at Miss Brickett’s undergo rigorous training to equip them with the skills and knowledge they will need to solve the mysteries that confound London’s police force.

But nothing can prepare 23-year-old apprentice Marion Lane for what happens after the arrest of her friend and mentor Frank on suspicion of murder: he has tasks Marion with clearing his name and saving his life. Her investigation will place Marion and her friends in great peril as they venture into the forbidden maze of uncharted tunnels that surround Miss Brickett’s.

Being discovered out of bounds means immediate dismissal, but that is the least of Marion’s problems when she discovered that the tunnels contain more than just secrets…

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is the first installation in a fantastical historical mystery series for fans of Stuart Turton’s The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and Natasha Pulley’s The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. 

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder has got to be one of my favourite books I’ve read this year so far. I was captivated from the first page and couldn’t put it down. Goodreads has informed me another book is coming, which i’m now impatiently awaiting. I know its going to be amazing!

I could not get enough of the authors writing style, its different to what I’m used to but I loved it! The plot and character development were both on point for me. I was deeply invested in every character, no matter how likeable they were. I’m known for being a sucker for those unlikable characters, so the fact I loved everyone to some degree speaks volumes. Each character is so vibrant and full of life its easy to forget they’re not real people. The plot is just brilliant, I love the idea of private detectives working under the streets of London with all those gadgets behind the facade of a bookshop. I thought the execution was done incredibly well, within a few chapters the book had me believing in the possibility of Miss Brickett’s being real.

Overall, I loved Marion Lane, it was everything I hoped it would be. I cannot recommend it enough, its perfect for readers new to the genre. Seriously, just read it!

Buy from: Waterstones Hive

1 thought on “Blog Tour: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.