Uncategorized

Guest post: The Bookish Librarian Halloween reads

As part of my Halloween month I invited fellow book bloggers to join in the fun, Today I have Shawn from The Bookish Librarian sharing some creepy Halloween recommendations.

Halloween is my favorite time of year! The spooky feelings, the leaves changing, the pumpkins everywhere! I also love to read fall/Halloween books! Here are some of my favorite books that give me that happy Fall or Halloween vibe!

cvr9781416978947_9781416978947_hrWhen Abbey’s best friend, Kristen, vanishes at the bridge near Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, everyone else is all too quick to accept that Kristen is dead…rumors fly that her death was no accident. Abbey goes through the motions of mourning her best friend, but privately, she refuses to believe that Kristen is really gone. Then she meets Caspian, the gorgeous and mysterious boy who shows up out of nowhere at Kristen’s funeral, and keeps reappearing in Abbey’s life. Caspian clearly has secrets of his own, but he’s the only person who makes Abbey feel normal again…but also special.

Just when Abbey starts to feel that she might survive all this, she learns a secret that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her best friend. How could Kristen have kept silent about so much? And could this secret have led to her death? As Abbey struggles to understand Kristen’s betrayal, she uncovers a frightening truth that nearly unravels her—one that will challenge her emerging love for Caspian, as well as her own sanity.

This book is one of those books that I always think about around Halloween. I mean how could you not when it takes place in a town called Sleepy Hollow? There are two other books in the series The Haunted and The Hidden. I’ve only read the first two, but I plan to reread them so I can enjoy The Hidden.

7728889Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

This book definitely gave me Halloween vibes. It has murder + mysterious supernatural beings + people having powers.

19364719A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

I haven’t actually read this book yet. It’s on my TBR. I was going to check it out from the library last year, but my hold never went through. So I bought it. Of course this is my number one read for the Halloween season!

About the Author:
Shawn is a book blogger over at thebookishlibrarianblog. She enjoys reading YA books. She is a librarian at a community college. In her spare time, she likes to watch Supernatural, play on the internet, hang out with her dogs and cats, and read. You can find Shawn on Twitter at yabooklibrarian.

Have you read any of these or planning to over Halloween? Let us know in the comments, and don’t forget to visit Shawn’s brilliant blog!

 

12 thoughts on “Guest post: The Bookish Librarian Halloween reads”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.